Sedmara Rutstein, piano
Quantity in Basket: None NIKOLAEV, TISHCHENKO Sedmara Rutstein, piano TROY096 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Exciting performances by a master pianist of seldom heard Russian repertoire.

In his tragically short career (he died at age 18), Aliosha Nikolaev (1959-1977) wrote not only piano music but two Romances based on texts of Pushkin, a quintet for two violins, one viola, and two cellos, a trio for two flutes and cello, and in 1984 a suite for oboe and piano. Many of Aliosha Nikolaev's compositions present to a large extent, vivid and colorful interpretations of Russian folk fairy tales, of which The Tin Kingdom is an example. The Cat's Hut is based on a play written for the children by Russian poet Samuel Marshak. Boris Tishchenko was born in Leningrad in 1939 and is a graduate of the Leningrad Conservatory. His list of credit sis in keeping with his status of one of the geatest composers of our time. He is a recipient of hte title People's Artist of Russia and of the Russian Federation's prestgious Glinka Award. He is a master of the large forms, having written one opera, one operetta, three ballets.
Aliosha Nikolaev, composer
Fairy Tale "The Snake Princess"
Sedmara Rutstein, piano

Aliosha Nikolaev, composer
Cat's Hut Suite
Sedmara Rutstein, piano

Boris Tishchenko, composer
Sonata No. 7 for Piano with Bells, Op. 85, in C Major
Sedmara Rutstein, piano, Michael Rosen, percussion

Review to come.
You may also like:
More Info SEDMARA RUTSTEIN, PIANO Russian Piano Music
More Info TISHCHENKO & SLONIMSKY Sonatas for Piano