Extension of a Dream
Quantity in Basket: None ALVIN SINGLETON Extension of a Dream TROY527 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Percussion music by the great American composer Alvin Singleton is beautifully played by Thamyris.

Among composers of so-called serious music over the last 50 years, few have realized the term "serious" as uniquely and powerfully as has Alvin Singleton. With many contemporary composers the seriousness of their work has been concerned with musical structure; Singleton throughout his career has answered the call of allowing his music to address crucial matters of his time. But this has always been accomplished through eloquent crafting of his musical materials. Singleton was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1940, the son of warm, witty, devoutly Christian parents. Abandoning a career as a CPA after falling in love with a Mahler symphony, Singleton studied composition at both New York University and Yale before working with Goffredo Petrassi as a Fulbright Scholar in Rome. He remained in Europe for nearly a decade and a half before returning to the U.S. to serve as composer-in-residence with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. Extension of a Dream, written in 1977 and revised in 1987, memorializes the brutal beating death of South African freedom fighter Steve Biko by South African police. Argoru is a word from the Ghanaian Twi language meaning "to play" and both works heard on this disc, ArgoruVII and Argoru VI are scored for solo instruments (vibraphone and marimba). Between Sisters (1990) is a musical setting of "The House Slave," a poem by former U.S. Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize winner Rita Dove.
Alvin Singleton, composer
Extension of a Dream
Peggy Benkeser, Michael Cebulski, percussion

Alvin Singleton, composer
Argoru VII
Peggy Benkeser, vibraphone

Alvin Singleton, composer
Between Sisters
Cheryl Boyd-Waddell, soprano, Paul Brittan, alto flute, Peggy Benkeser, vibraphone, Laura Gordy, piano

Alvin Singleton, composer
Argoru VI
Michael Cebulski, marimba

Alvin Singleton, composer
Laura Gordy, Brent Runnels, piano

Review to come.
You may also like:
More Info KAREN WALWYN Dark Fires, Vol. 2
More Info MARK KROLL, HARPSICHORD The Contemporary Harpsichord
More Info ALVIN SINGLETON Sing to the Sun
More Info ALVIN SINGLETON Sweet Chariot