Daughter of the South

Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Chorus, Marin Alsop (conductor)

Catalog #: TROY1210
Release Date: August 1, 2010
Format: Digital

The only opera composed by Edward Joseph Collins, Daughter of the South, is set on a plantation on the Potomac River, near Leesburg, Virginia. The composer also wrote the libretto, the dramatic action commencing on the day the Civil War began and ending when peace was declared. Pondering what would be an appropriate opera for an American composer, Collins drew on his life-long interest in the Civil War and created an opera using the love story of a Southern beauty with a Northern boy as the basis of the libretto. The music shares many identifiable qualities with Collins' other compositions for large ensembles, yet also makes more direct use of music styles from the popular culture of the 1920s and 30s, especially jazz and blues.


Choose your platform

Track Listing

Title Composer Performer
Daughter of the South Edward Joseph Collins Peter Auty, tenor, Andrea Baker, mezzo soprano, Lisa Milne, soprano, Keel Watson, bass-baritone, Roland Wood, baritone, Peter Coleman-Wright, baritone, Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Chorus, Marin Alsop, conductor


  • "Everyone interested in American music owes a vote of thanks to Albany Records for single-handedly reviving that of Edward Joseph Collins..."

    – Crocks Newsletter

  • "The opera is beautifully performed...and energentically led..."

    – AllMusic

  • "A fascinating...musico-dramatic specimen that will be of interest to many. Recommended."

    – Fanfare

*Album cover provided for Editorial use only. ©Albany Records. The Albany Imprint is a registered trademark of PARMA Recordings LLC. The views and opinions expressed in this media are those of the artist and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views and opinions held by PARMA Recordings LLC and its label imprints, subsidiaries, and affiliates.