Charles Wuorinen: Metagong

New York New Music Ensemble

Catalog #: TROY1497
Release Date: June 1, 2014
Format: Digital

Albany Records continues its series devoted to the music of Pulitzer Prize winning composer Charles Wuorinen with this disc, which includes the world premiere recordings of two major chamber works from 2008, as well as new recordings of two Wuorinen classics. The music is performed by several of the finest Wuorinen specialsts: the New York New Music Ensemble; violinist Mark Steinberg; pianist Alan Feinberg; and percussionist George Nickson. In the notes, Frank J. Oteri writes that "At this point in his career, his [Wuorinen's] chamber music output must now be one of the most extensive ever created by an American composer." The four works are performed in descending order of the number of musicians involved: quartet, trio, duo and solo percussion, although the final work is every bit as multilayered as the earlier works, giving the impression of a work for chamber ensemble.


Choose your platform

Track Listing

Title Composer Performer
Metagong Charles Wuorinen James Baker & Daniel Druckman, percussion; Stephen Gosling and Steven Beck, pianos
Trio for Flute, Bass Clarinet and Piano Charles Wuorinen Jayn Rosenfeld, flutes; Jean Kopperud, bass clarinet; Stephen Gosling, piano
Sonata for Violin and Piano Charles Wuorinen Mark Steinberg, violin; Alan Feinberg, piano
Janissary Music Charles Wuorinen George Nickson, percussion

*Album cover provided for Editorial use only. ©Albany Records. The Albany Imprint is a registered trademark of PARMA Recordings LLC. The views and opinions expressed in this media are those of the artist and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views and opinions held by PARMA Recordings LLC and its label imprints, subsidiaries, and affiliates.