Flute Music from Mexico

Jonathan Borja, Hector Landa

Catalog #: TROY1937
Release Date: July 1, 2023
Format: Digital

Jonathan Borja's second recording for Albany Records continues his interest in performing music for flute by Mexican composers. Included are works by Arturo Rodríguez,José Pablo Moncayo, Juanra Urrusti, Samuel Zyman, Diana Syrse, Eduardo Gamboa, and Arturo Márquez. Borja enjoys a varied career as a performer and educator. He is on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and is a member of the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra. He holds degrees from the UMKC Conservatory of Music, Principia College, and the National Conservatory of Music in Mexico City. His collaborator, pianist Hector Landa is a prizewinner of the Edvard Grieg and the Isaias Noriega de la Vega Piano Competitions. He is on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Superior.


Hear the full album on YouTube


Choose your platform

Track Listing

Title Composer Performer
Introspección Arturo Rodríguez Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
Amatzinac José Pablo Moncayo Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
What lies within Juanra Urrusti Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
Canción de Cuna Samuel Zyman Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
Beldad y fuerza Diana Syrse Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
Transparencias Eduardo Gamboa Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)
Danzón No. 5 Portales de madrugada Arturo Márquez Jonathan Borja (flute); Hector Landa (piano)

*Album cover provided for Editorial use only. ©Albany Records. The Albany Imprint is a registered trademark of PARMA Recordings LLC. The views and opinions expressed in this media are those of the artist and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views and opinions held by PARMA Recordings LLC and its label imprints, subsidiaries, and affiliates.