Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)

Catalog #: TROY1952
Release Date: November 1, 2023
Format: Digital

Pianist Kyra Zhao says that “Vibrant, just like the title sounds, is a colorful excursion taking the listener’s ear on a journey from the dreamy seashore to the roaring thunder and from intimate friendship encounters to triumphant marches.” The works by Rachmaninoff, Scriabin, and Schumann are essential repertoire of the Romantic to the early 20th century era. Hailed by New York Concert Review as “A born performer” pianist Kyra Xuerong Zhao has achieved an international reputation in many countries as a concert pianist. She won top prizes at the Seattle International Piano Competition, Rome Chopin International Piano Competition, and the Quebec International Music Awards, among many others. She has performed recitals, concertos, and chamber concerts in the most prestigious halls in the world. A graduate of Boston University, Yale, and the Mannes School of Music, she is currently on the faculty at the New England Conservatory of Music Pre-College.


Hear the full album on YouTube


Choose your platform

Track Listing

Title Composer Performer
Etudes-tableaux, Op. 33: No. 8 in G Minor Sergei Rachmaninoff Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)
Etudes-tableaux, Op. 33: No. 9 in C-Sharp Minor Sergei Rachmaninoff Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)
Piano Sonata No. 2 in G-Sharp Minor, Op. 19 Alexander Scriabin Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)
Six Moments musicaux, Op. 16: No. 4 Sergei Rachmaninoff Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)
24 Preludes for Piano, Op. 11: No. 11 Alexander Scriabin Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)
Carnaval, Op. 9 Robert Schumann Kyra Xuerong Zhao (piano)


  • This disc should cement her standing among the top in the younger generation of international pianists...A go-to disc for the great repertoire here.

    – James Harrington, Fanfare

  • Kyra Xuerong Zhao is a terrific pianist, musically intelligent, sensitive and endowed with a wonderful technique.

    – Colin Clarke, Fanfare

  • Kyra meets every test head-on with confidence, flawless execution, beauty of tone, and an emotional sensitivity that finds just the right balance in each piece between bravura and poetry. I hope to hear much more from this exceptionally talented artist, and recommend this, her debut recording, without reservation.

    – Jerry Dubins, Fanfare

*Album cover provided for Editorial use only. ©Albany Records. The Albany Imprint is a registered trademark of PARMA Recordings LLC. The views and opinions expressed in this media are those of the artist and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views and opinions held by PARMA Recordings LLC and its label imprints, subsidiaries, and affiliates.