Reflections on 9/11
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None KAREN WALWYN Reflections on 9/11 TROY1085 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Music that will surely resonate with listeners.

Robert Schulslaper, a writer for Fanfare Magazine stated: "Reflections is a large-scale work in seven movements and Walwyn has the concentration, intensity and technique to focus attention on its every phrase and transformation. A large dynamic range, excellent pacing, attention to detail, and fleet-fingered dexterity serve her vision with grace and nobility...Walwyn has written music that will surely resonate with listeners' own reflections on 9/11. In my case, at least, it's left a lasting impression."
Karen Walwyn, composer
Reflections on 9/11
Karen Walwyn, piano

"Imaginatively conceived and executed, it both disturbingly transposes the catastrophe into appropriately cataclysmic sound and artistically suggests the aftermath's lingering sense of numbing devastation. ...[Karen Walwyn] has a personal style, and even when her models are clearly audible, she bends them to her purpose. ...Walwyn...has written music that will surely resonate with listeners' own reflections on 9/11." (Fanfare)

"...a well-crafted piano epic...a seven movement tone poem full of dark textures and a compelling somber atmosphere. ...Walwyn writes effectively for the piano, especially her bell-like sonorities, percussive ostinatos and cascading runs. ...The composer is a persuasive exponent of her own work..." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes DARK FIRES 20th Century Music for Piano
More Info
iTunes KAREN WALWYN Dark Fires, Vol. 2
More Info
iTunes RODNEY MACK Spirit of the Trumpeter