Gates of Silence
Download from iTunes Download from Amazon Quantity in Basket: None SUSAN BOTTI Gates of Silence TROY1436 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


The Blakemore Trio with composer/soprano Susan Botti perform her trilogy inspired by the Aeneid.

Inspired by Virgil’s Aeneid, the three works comprising Gates of Silence are connected but independent. Each is a passage that echoes with relevance today — our fallen cities, our physical passages and in our personal interactions with each other and our destinies. The third piece, Dido Refuses to Speak, sets poetry by National Book Award finalist, Linda Gregerson. As a composer and performer, Susan Botti’s eclectic background and experiences are reflected in her music. Theatre and the visual arts play a formative role in the aesthetic of her work, which have encompassed traditional, improvisational and non-classical composition and singing styles. A recipient of numerous grants and awards, Botti specializes in the performance of contemporary music by composers of diverse styles, in addition to her own works. She studied at the Berklee School of Music and the Manhattan School of Music, where she currently is on the composition faculty.
Susan Botti, composer
Lament: The Fallen City
Carolyn Huebl, violin, Amy Dorfman, piano

Susan Botti, composer
The Journey without Her
The Blakemore Trio

Susan Botti, composer
Dido Refuses to Speak
Susan Botti, soprano, The Blakemore Trio

Gates of Silence is one of the most remarkable suites I have heard by a composer of today: expressive, fascinating, and very well-written music of extraordinary quality, at times challenging, at others easy to absorb, but always fascinating and evolving in the mind of a remarkable woman. I cannot recommend this one highly enough.” (Fanfare)