Inner Voice: Piano Works of Alex Freeman
Download from iTunes Download from Amazon Quantity in Basket: None ALEX FREEMAN Inner Voice: Piano Works of Alex Freeman TROY1480 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


World premiere recordings devoted to the piano music of Alex Freeman.

Alex Freeman composes in a wide range of styles and media. He holds degrees from Eastman, Boston University's School of Fine Arts and Juilliard. His doctoral research led him to Finland, where he lived for six years, studying at The Sibelius Academy. Assistant Professor of Music at Carleton College, Freeman has won awards from ASCAP, The American Academy of Arts and Letter, The American-Scandinavian Foundation and The Fulbright Foundation, among others. The music on this disc reflects Freemanís compositional activity over the last 13 years. Performed in reverse chronological order, each work displays his penchant for continuity and long-range development. Three superb Finnish pianists, Matilda Kärkkäinen, Risto-Matti Marin and Salla Karakorpi, are joined by American pianist Brian Lee in these performances.
Alex Freeman, composer
Aerial Voices: Variations on a Theme of Charles Fussell
Salla Karakorpi, piano

Alex Freeman, composer
Outside Voices
Riso-Matti Marin, piano

Alex Freeman, composer
Night on the Prairies
Riso-Matti Marin, piano

Alex Freeman, composer
Three Pieces
Matilda Kärkkäinen, piano

Alex Freeman, composer
Brian Lee, piano

Review to come.