The Recalcitrants
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None RANDY BAUER The Recalcitrants TROY1611 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Chamber works by Randy Bauer, a composer who blends jazz and classical.

Randy Bauer (b. 1975) is a composer and jazz musician based in Minneapolis. His music has been performed across a range of cities and venues from Austin to Zagreb by the Brentano String Quartet, eighth blackbird, Nash Ensemble of London and many other distinguished new music ensembles. He was named a 2013-14 McKnight Foundation Fellow by the McKnight Foundation of Minnesota. He has also received recognition from DownBeat, and the Jazz Composers Alliance. Bauer has won the ASCAP Young Jazz Composer's Award as well as three ASCAP/Morton Gould Awards. On the faculty at Macalester College, he studied at Peabody, and Princeton. This disc contains three of his recent works (the oldest written in 2010). One can hear a range of influences and a sort of hybridity between the genres of jazz and classical music. His compositions are imbued with considerable lyricism, while also experimenting with hybrid forms and complex narratives.
Randy Bauer, composer
The Recalcitrants
James Garlick, violin; Owen Lovell, piano

Randy Bauer, composer
Half String Quartet: Duo in Three Parts
Tarn Travers, violin; Eric Kutz, cello

Randy Bauer, composer
Wilhelmina Smith, cello; Owen Lowell, piano

Three recent concert duos by Randy Bauer have an improvisational feel that draws on jazz…indeed Bauer himself describes his music as a sort of fully-notated hybrid of jazz and classical music. (American Record Guide)