Frost Symphony Live!
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None ZWILICH | CRESTON | McLOSKEY | HINDMAN | STINSON Frost Symphony Live! TROY1750 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A wonderful collection of orchestral works by American compsoers

Taken from recordings of live concerts, the Frost Symphony Orchestra offers works by five American composers including Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Paul Creston, Lansing McLoskey, Dorothy Hindman, and Scott Stinson. For the Zwilich, the orchestra is joined by flutist Trudy Kane, now on the faculty of the Frost School of Music, after retiring from the position of principal flutist of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. World-renowned saxophonist Dale Underwood is the soloist for the Paul Creston concerto.
Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, composer
Elegy - Soliloquy and Epilogue for solo flute and string orchestra
Trudy Kane (flute); Frost Symphony Orchestra; Thomas Sleeper (conductor)

Paul Creston, composer
Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra, Op. 26
Dale Underwood (alto saxophone); Frost Symphony Orchestra; Thomas Sleeper (conductor)

Lansing McLoskey, composer
Chanson pour cordes
Frost Symphony Orchestra; Thomas Sleeper (conductor)

Dorothy Hindman, composer
Setting Century
Frost Symphony Orchestra; Alexander Magalong (conductor)

Scott Stinson, composer
Schlaffe's Bruder
Frost Symphony Orchestra; Thomas Sleeper (conductor)

"The Frost Symphony, which has had favorable coverage in ARG, is new to me. They have a warm, mellow sound and do a terrific job with the contemporary Americana in this program. Three of the pieces are elegies: Ellen Taafe Zwilich's highly affecting Elegy for Flute and Strings, which displays the elegant, bluesy flute lines of Trudy Kane…; Dorothy Hindman's imaginative and sinister Setting Century, which explores the relativity and inexorability of time; and Scott Stinson's chorale-like Brother of Sleep, displaying glowering brass and violent percussion. Lansing McLoskey's Chanson pour Cordes also has a mournful ambience. Livening up the proceedings is the 1941 Alto Saxophone Concerto by the eclectic, underrated Paul Creston, displaying the virtuosity of Dale Underwood…" (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes THOMAS SLEEPER Symphony No. 1
More Info
iTunes ROBERTO SIERRA Sinfonias
More Info
iTunes Amazon TICHELI | McLOSKEY An American Dream