Across the Ages
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None ALAN HOVHANESS Across the Ages TROY1805 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Haunting, beautifully performed works for cello by Alan Hovhaness.

Across the Ages features cello works written by the prolific American composer Alan Hovhaness (1911-200). Inspired by elements of ancient Armenian, Japanese, and Indian music, the collection of works reflects Hovhaness' renowned ability to synthesize different musical traditions. Utilizing the cello's rich and expressive nature, Hovhaness' music reveals the timeless connection we have to past civilizations, to nature, and to one another. Cellist Christina Gullans is an avid performer with an interest in music semiology. A former member of the Boston String Quartet, she has participated in numerous festivals, including Aspen, Spoleto, and Music Without Borders. She plays an American cello made by Charles Albert in 1886.
Alan Hovhaness, composer
Yakamochi for Violoncello Solo, Op. 193, No. 2
Christina Gullans (cello)

Alan Hovhaness, composer
Suite for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 193, No. 1
Christina Gullans (cello); Jeremy Fisell (piano)

Alan Hovhaness, composer
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 255
Christina Gullans (cello); Jeremy Fisell (piano)

Alan Hovhaness, composer
Nagooran for Violoncello, Timpani and 4 Percussion
Christina Gullans (cello); Adam Rosenlatt (timpani); Daniel Heagney (percussion); Jeff Stem (percussion); Tatevik Khoja-Eynatyan (percussion); Nonoka Mizukami (percussion); Robert Dodelin (conductor)

Review to come.