Caprice Variations
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None GEORGE ROCHBERG Caprice Variations TROY1883 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A tour de force performance of Rochberg's Caprice Variations.

George Rochberg's Caprice Variations were composed in 1970, and incorporated musical elements that ignited his passions. The work began to germinate in 1969, during an accidental encounter with Brahms' Opus 35 variations on Paganini's famous caprice and this led directly to his Third String Quartet. Eight variations of the Caprice are expanded and revisited elements of this string quartet. Requiring considerable musical, artistic, and technical prowess, the Caprice Variations are very rarely performed. Born in 1995, French violinist Léo Marillier studied at the New England Conservatory and the Paris Conservatory, as well as the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague. The winner of numerous competitions, Marillier has performed with noted chamber musicians and ensembles in the U.S., Europe, and the U.A.E. and has appeared as a soloist with orchestras in Europe. He is the artistic director of the Inventio Festival in Paris. He is a member of the Diotima Quartet.
George Rochberg, composer
Caprice Variations for Unaccompanied Violin
Léo Marillier (violin)

Review to come.