Ms Butterfly
Quantity in Basket: None JIAOJIAO ZHOU Ms Butterfly TROY1927 - Price: $18.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Blu-Ray video of futuristic adaptation of Madame Butterly -- lavish sets and costumes.

Ms Butterfly is a futuristic electro-acoustic music adaptation of Puccini's Madame Butterfly, conceived, produced and directed by Dennis K. Law with music supervision by Zhou Jiaojiao; electronic organ orchestration by Wu Danxia; and analog synthesizer programming by David Wohl. Set in 2036, this blu-ray video of the adaptation of Madame Butterly has lavish sets, costumes, and sound taken from performances at the Denver International Festival of the Arts and Technology.
Jiaojiao Zhou, composer
Ms Butterfly
Julianne Olson (soprano); Susanne Burgess (soprano); Chen Yongxi (tenor); Li Ting (tenor); Huang Jianan (baritone); Chen Yifan (baritone); Jenna Clark (mezzo-soprano); Pedro Barrera (tenor); Griffen Tracy (bass); Simona Xiazhu Qi (soprano); Chaowen Ting (conductor)

…I thought the production itself quite beautiful. The sets are simple, furniture pieces sliding on and off to indicate scenery changes. Jin Tao’s music and video direction adds color and depth to every scene. The costumes by Ah Kuan are a little “out there”, but they allow us to transport ourselves to a different world with different aesthetics…I enjoyed this production and watched it several times. It will never replace the original, but it doesn’t have to: it is unique. Opera lovers who enjoy a new take on an old work should get this. (American Record Guide)