Violin Concerto
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None ANTHONY HOLLAND Violin Concerto TROY258 - Price: $16.99
Go Back >


Highly original works by a new American composer.

Anthony Holland was born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1955 and studied at The Cleveland Institute of Music and Case-Western Reserve University. He studied with Donald Erb, Hale Smith and Leslie Bassett. Since 1982 he has been a Professor of Music at Skidmore College in Saratoga, New York. Holland composed his Piccolo Concerto to demonstrate that the piccolo could be used as an expressive solo instrument. Pohadka a Variace was composed and premiered in the spring of 1997. The title means fairy tale in Czech. The guitar pieces were composed for Joel Brown, the soloist who performs them on this disc. Intensity 51.5+ is a light-hearted reference to Varese's Density 21.5. The original piece was 51.5 measures long. The + means the soloist repeats the piece as many times as they feel necessary. The New England Poems was commissioned by Sandy Schwoebel, long-time editor of The Flutist Quarterly, for performance at the National Flute Association Convention in Boston in1993. The Violin Concerto was commissioned and premiered by the great Czech violinist Frantisek Novotny. The music of Anthony Holland will appeal to anyone who enjoys mainstream American music. It is accessible and tonal.
Anthony Holland, composer
Concerto for Piccolo
l'Orchestre d'Artiste, Anthony Holland, conductor, Peter Markovsky, piccolo

Anthony Holland, composer
Pohdka a Variace, A Fairy Tale & Variations for Two Violins
Bohumil Smejkal, Frantisek Novotny, violin

Anthony Holland, composer
Three Pieces for Solo Guitar
Joel Brown, guitar

Anthony Holland, composer
Intensity 51.5+
Pola Baytelman, piano

Anthony Holland, composer
New England Poems for Flute, Percussion & Narrator
Norman Thibodeau, flute, Danielle Bruce, percussion, Anthony Holland, narrator

Anthony Holland, composer
Concerto for Violin
Baldwin-Wallace Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, Dwight Oltman, conductor, Frantisek Novotny, violin

Review to come
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes FIVE PREMIERES Chamber Works With Guitar