From the Hudson Valley
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None MARGARET SWINCHOSKI From the Hudson Valley TROY371 - Price: $16.99
Go Back >


Music of pastoral beauty and nostalgic colors, from romanticism to a more modern sound.

Leo Kraft is professor emeritus of the Aaron Copland School of Music at Queens College. He studied composition at Queens College and at Princeton University. He also studied in Paris with Nadia Boulanger. His From the Hudson Valley was commissioned by a consortium of 20 flutists from the National Flute Association and received its premiere on August 15, 1998 at their annual convention in Phoenix. Godfrey Schroth was a pupil of the American composer Paul Creston. He first came to attention in 1959 when his Piano Quartet won a major prize and was performed by the Phoenix Quartet. He describes his Spring in Bucks County as "a challenge to both the pianist and the flutist, who must play three instruments." The suite was premiered at the Philadelphia Art Museum in 1974. Its three movements are Equinoctial Dances, River Willows and Fields of May. Eric Ewazen was born in Cleveland, Ohio and studied under Samuel Adler, Milton Babbitt, Warren Benson, Gunther Schuller and Joseph Schwantner at the Eastman School, Tanglewood and the Juilliard School where he has been a member of the faculty since 1980. His Ballade, Pastorale and Dance was premiered at Aspen in July 1993.
Eric Ewazen, composer
Ballade, Pastorale and Dance
Margaret Swinchoski, flute, Scott Brubaker, French horn, Ron Levy, piano

Arthur Foote, composer
A Night Piece
Margaret Swinchoski, flute, Hudson Strings, JoAnn Falletta, conductor

Leo Kraft, composer
From The Hudson Valley
Margaret Swinchoski, flute, Hudson Strings, JoAnn Falletta, conductor

Godfrey Schroth, composer
Spring in Bucks County
Margaret Swinchoski, flute, Ron Levy, piano

"Flutist makes great impression during "Hudson Valley" journey (headline, The Daily Reflector)...Swinchoski proves to be a fine flutist with a tone that is pleasing... Ewazen's work from 1993 is as pleasant a piece of modern chamber music as I've run across in years. Swinchoski has excellent partners in horn player Scott Brubaker and pianist Levy."
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes NEWMAN, LEVY, ESKOW, SHAWN, FRANZETTI New American Masters, Vol. 2