Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None LEONARDO BALADA Symphonies TROY474 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A strongly nationalistic Spanish-American composer whose music moves from experimentation to folk influences.

Daring and energy are the two basic elements with which Leonardo Balada approaches his very personal compositions. This total musician has blended his strong vocation with his teaching since 1970 at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, where he is University Professor of Composition. He started his piano and theory studies in his native Barcelona, finishing in 1953. Then he studied composition at the New York College of Music and the Juilliard School. The fact that he finished his studies in 1960 could suggest that he was part of the so-called "generation of '51" of Spanish composers. Because of geographical distance he did not participate in the early activities of that group, which was so important to the Spanish music of the sixties. This does not mean he did not identify with them esthetically and ideologically. At the beginning, his compositional direction did not conform to that of his contemporaries, who generally followed the paths of Paris or Darmstadt. The almost obligatory twelve-tone style was not attractive to him. Having left the European continent allowed him the possibility of approaching other musical languages. This he did as one will hear in the broad selection of his orchestral music presented on this disc.
Leonard Balada, composer
Symphony No. 4
Lausanne Chamber Orchestra, Jesus Lopez-Cobos, conductor

Leonard Balada, composer
Persistencies - Sinfonia Concertante for Amplified Guitar and Orchestra
Orquestra Simfonica de Barcelona I Nacional de Catalunya, Narciso Yepes, guitar, Leonardo Balada, conductor

Leonard Balada, composer
Sinfonia en Negro - Monenaje a Martin Luther King (Symphony No. 1)
Orquesta Sinfonica de la Radio TV Espanola, Enrique Garcia Asensio, conductor

Leonard Balada, composer
Cumbres - A Short Symphony for Band (Symphony No. 2)
Carnegie Mellon Symphonic Band, Richard Strange, conductor

Review to come.
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes LEONARDO BALADA The Abstract and the Ethnic
More Info
iTunes LEONARDO BALADA Revolution & Discovery