Works for Orchestra
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None STANISLAW SKROWACZEWSKI Works for Orchestra TROY481 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A major release of dark-hued fiery music of this famed composer/conductor.

Stanislaw Skrowaczewski retains a unique position on the international musical scene, where he is both a renowned conductor and a highly regarded composer, especially of large scale orchestral works. Born in Lwow, Poland but resident in the U.S. since 1960, Skrowaczewski showed great promise as a pianist, making his debut with the Beethoven Triple Concerto, but an injury to his hands during World War II terminated his keyboard aspirations. Composing and conducting became his double focus. Directly after the War - still in his mid-twenties - he was named music director of the Breslau Philharmonic, then the Katowice Philharmonic, Krakow Philharmonic and then the Warsaw National Orchestra. During this period he also studied with Nadia Boulanger in Paris. In 1958, at the invitation of George Szell, he made his American conducting debut with the Cleveland Orchestra. In 1960, he was named music director of what was to become the Minnesota Orchestra, a position he was to hold for 19 years. His Passacaglia Immaginaria was completed in 1995. It unfolds in a provocative sound world. Similar to the Passacaglia of the Baroque era, a species of continuous variations on a ground, his design is based on the principle of metamorphosis. The work was commissioned by the Minnesota Orchestral Association and Eiji Oue gave the premiere with the Orchestra on April 10, 12 and 13,1996. For its 35th anniversary season in 1993-94, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, requested a new work from Skrowaczewski. The resulting Chamber Concerto was premiered on November 26, 27, 1993. In January 1981, while guest conducting in Frankfurt, Germany, Skrowaczewski finished his Clarinet Concerto, which he dedicated to Joseph Longo, the co-principal clarinetist of the Minnesota Orchestra. The premiere of this work was April 15,17,18, 1981 and again the composer conducted the orchestra.
Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, composer
Passacaglia Immaginaria
Saarbrücken Radio Symhony Orchestra, Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, conductor

Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, composer
Chamber Concerto
Saarbrücken Radio Symhony Orchestra, Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, conductor

Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, composer
Concerto for Clarinet in A & Orchestra
Saarbrücken Radio Symhony Orchestra, Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, conductor, Richard Stoltzman, clarinet

Review to come.