New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 2
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None ALBERT, RANDS, CROCKETT, HEUSER New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 2 TROY490 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Intriguing American works including two important first recordings of works by Rands and Albert.

David Heuser's degrees are from Eastman and Indiana University and his composition teachers have included Samuel Adler, Joseph Schwantner and Warren Benson. A native of New Jersey, Mr. Heuser currently resides in San Antonio, where he is a faculty member at the University of Texas at San Antonio. Cauldron was commissioned and premiered by the New York Youth Symphony. Donald Crockett was born in Pasadena, California. He is Professor of Composition and Director of the Contemporary Music Ensemble at the University of Southern California Thornton School of Music where he joined the faculty in 1981. From 1991-1997 he was composer-in-residence with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra. Roethke Preludes was commissioned by the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and given its premiere performances in February 1995. It comprises six short movements, with the entire piece taking a little over a quarter of an hour. Pulitzer Prize and Grammy award-winning composer Stephen Albert, whose tragic death in 1992 stunned the music world, was recognized in his lifetime for a body of work at once powerful, dramatic, colorful and deeply emotive. He won the 1985 Pulitzer Prize for his symphony River Run and from 1985 to 1988 served as composer-in-residence with the Seattle Symphony. Albert's gift for writing vocal music is also reflected in his last concerto, the sweetly lyrical Wind Canticle for clarinet and orchestra, tailor-made for soloist David Shifrin and the Philadelphia Orchestra. Bernard Rands is considered one of the world's most renowned composers. He has been acclaimed as a major figure in contemporary music with more than 90 works for a wide range of genres, including large choral and symphonic compositions, chamber music and music theater pieces. ...body and shadow... was composed in 1988 in response to a commission from the Boston Symphony Orchestra and was first performed by that orchestra in 1989 under Seiji Ozawa. It is, in effect, a concerto for orchestra in that over the course of the work's two movements, each section of the orchestra is featured.
David Heuser, composer
Bowling Green Philharmonia, Emily Freeman Brown, conductor

Donald Crockett, composer
Roethke Preludes
Bowling Green Philharmonia, Emily Freeman Brown, conductor

Stephan Albert, composer
Wind Canticle
Bowling Green Philharmonia, Emily Freeman Brown, conductor, Kevin Schempf, clarinet

Bernard Rands, composer
"...body and shadow..."
Bowling Green Philharmonia, Emily Freeman Brown, conductor

"...the academy is used to good effect here--that being the Bowling Gree n Philharmonia. The performances range from respectably to impressively professional, and the composers deliver." (21st Century Music)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes THOMAS SLEEPER Symphony No. 1
More Info
YIWEN | YE | HERCHENRÖDER | BLAKE | MARSHALL New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 7
More Info
iTunes KERNIS | SHRUDE | WARSHAW | CORNELL | KENNEDY | LIPTAK New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 8
More Info
iTunes WILLIAMS, HIGDON, BLAKE, GODFREY New Music from Bowling Green
More Info
iTunes KUEHN | RAN | FRANK | KARCHIN | THOMAS New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 9
More Info
iTunes WEBB, ADLER, RAN, YI, PUTS New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. IV
More Info
iTunes BRYANT, RUO, ADLER, RAN, DAUGHERTY, ROSS New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 5
More Info
iTunes BOWLING GREEN PHILHARMONIA New Music from Bowling Green