Trompetas de Plata
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None JORGE LIDERMAN Trompetas de Plata TROY651 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A fine introduction to the chamber music of this gifted composer.

Born in Buenos Aires, Jorge Liderman began his musical studies at the Rubin Academy of Music in Jerusalem. In 1988, he received his doctorate in composition from the University of Chicago where he worked with Ralph Shapey and Shulamit Ran. A year later, Liderman joined the composition faculty at the University of California, Berkeley. The composer writes: "Continuity and the lack of continuity have been at the center of my musical thinking for nearly fifteen years. By continuity I mean the presence of a musical fabric woven by one or more musical processes that unfold gradually. This leads the listener, "uninterruptedly," from one harmonic idea to another, from a low to a high register for example, or from a clearly irregular and non-metric rhythmic pattern to a regular and pulsating beat. On the other hand, the lack of continuity shapes itself through the abrupt juxtaposition of sharply contrasting brief musical statements. Here the contrast is created by the juxtaposition of far reaching harmonic areas which could also be different in nature. Trompetas de Plata, a collection of some of my most recent chamber works for strings, percussion and piano, was composed with these ideas in mind."
Jorge Liderman, composer
Berkeley Contemporary Chamber Players

Jorge Liderman, composer
Piano Quintet
Cuarteto Latinaoamericano, Sonia Rubinsky, piano

Jorge Liderman, composer
Tropes V
Karen Rosenak, piano

Jorge Liderman, composer
String Quartet No. 3
Cuarteto Latinoamericano

"...this ebullient and irresistible new release is pure delight." (San Francisco Chronicle)

"...a...well played and enjoyable program..." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes JORGE LIDERMAN Many Moons
More Info
iTunes JORGE LIDERMAN, Duo46 Aires de Sefarad
More Info
iTunes JORGE LIDERMAN Wind-Up Toys