Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None DAVID SAMPSON Dectet TROY780 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A must for brass lovers.

David Sampson, born in Charlottesville, Virginia, makes his Albany Records debut with a disc of exciting, highly original music. In the past you may have heard such orchestral works as Hommage: JFK, Simple Lives, and Reflections on a Dance (for brass and percussion); you then know his music is rhythmically charged, intense in its emotions and dramatic in its orchestration, comparable to such composers as William Schuman and Benjamin Lees. One of his specialties is writing for brass; among his trumpet teachers were such stellar names as Gerard Schwarz, Gilbert Johnson, Robert Nagel and Raymond Mase. His composition teachers included Karel Husa, Henri Dutilleux and John Corigliano, so you have some idea of the exciting sounds to be heard here. This is an important disc for those with an interest in contemporary American music; brass fanciers will obviously find this very attractive too!
David Sampson, composer
Serenade for flügelhorn and string orchestra
Raymond Mase, flügelhorn, Czech Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, Paul Polivnick, conductor

David Sampson, composer
Sonata Forty
Scott Brubaker, horn, Ron Levy, piano

David Sampson, composer
American Brass Quintet

David Sampson, composer
Wihan String Quartet, Afflatus Wind Quintet, Richard Ormrod, piano

"...highly recommended for those who want to hear music by one of the great composers of our day as performed by the always impeccable artistry of Ray Mase..." (International Trumpet Guild Journal)