The Consolations of Scholarship
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None JUDITH WEIR The Consolations of Scholarship TROY803 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


A highly original compositional voice.

The Scottish-born Judith Weir began her career as an oboist and took composition lessons with John Tavener and Robin Holloway. Her music is performed in Europe and the United States. Her works reflect her diverse interests in narrative, folklore and theatre, with British folk music a strong influence. This release is an excellent sampling for those unfamiliar with her work: The Consolations of Scholarship is a highly-compressed opera, based on 14th century Chinese Yuan plays, where all the characters are played by one multi-voiced singer. The Piano Concerto, where the soloist is partnered by nine solo string players, emulates the scale of the early Mozart concerti; King Harald's Saga, is a "Grand Opera in Three Acts" for solo soprano voice, depicting the attempted invasion of England by Norway in 1066. Inspired by Emily Dickinson, Musicians Wrestle Everywhere is a one-movement concerto for ten instruments, reflecting the "street environment" of Weir's own urban neighborhood. You'll find Weir to be a highly original compositional voice.
Judith Weir, composer
The Consolations of Scholarship
Janice Felty, mezzo-soprano, Ensemble X, Steven Stucky, conductor

Judith Weir, composer
Piano Concerto
Xak Bjerken, piano, Ensemble X, Mark Scatterday, conductor

Judith Weir, composer
King Harald's Saga
Ensemble X, Mark Scatterday, conductor

"...Ms. Weir not only possesses a strikingly distinctive compositional voice, she has shown an arresting flair for drama..." (The New York Times)

"Powerful, streetwise, colourful - a Judith Weir showcase" (Gramophone)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes STEVEN STUCKY In Shadow, In Light