Music of James Yannatos
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None JAMES YANNATOS Music of James Yannatos TROY835 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Exciting, color music with a transparent sound to the orchestration.

We've been proud over the past several years to offer the chamber and orchestral music of James Yannatos on Albany Records, and this newest release offers an excellent sampling of his talents. Born and educated in New York City, he studied with Philip Bezanson, Nadia Boulanger, Luigi Dallapiccola, Darius Milhaud and Paul Hindemith. He also studied conducting with William Steinberg and Leonard Bernstein, and has been music director of the Harvard-Radcliffe Orchestra since 1964. The Violin Concerto was commissioned by the Pierian Foundation in honor of his 40th year at Harvard. The Symphony, loosely based on a twelve-tone theme, was influenced, as Yannatos says, "by the ragged, edgy rhythms of jazz filtered through the ears of a classical composer." The Contrabass Concerto is described as "a cross between the classical solo concerto, with its typical virtuoso technique, and the alternating 'ritornello' style of the Baroque solo concerto." Yannatos' music is exciting and colorful with a particularly "transparent" sound to the orchestration. The other releases of his chamber, choral and orchestral works can be heard on TROY241, 278, 366, 400, 516 and 638.
James Yannatos, composer
Concerto for Violin & Orchestra
Harvard Radcliffe Symphony Orchestra, Joseph Lin, violin, James Yannatos, conductor

James Yannatos, composer
Symphony Brevis (No. 1)
Harvard Radcliffe Symphony Orchestra, James Yannatos, conductor

James Yannatos, composer
Concerto for Contrabass & Chamber Orchestra
Collage, Edwin Barker, doublebass, James Yannatos, conductor

"[James Yannatos'] is...user-friendly, bright in color, positive in its emotionality..." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes WALTER PISTON Symphony No. 3
More Info
iTunes YANNATOS, WYNER, FUSSELL Orchestral Works
More Info
More Info
iTunes JAMES YANNATOS Trinity Mass
More Info
iTunes JAMES YANNATOS Orchestral Works
More Info
iTunes JAMES YANNATOS Chamber Music