At the Still Point
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None WHITMAN, WAGNER, LEVINSON At the Still Point TROY838 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Three world premiere recordings of new chamber works performed by the incomparable Network for New Music.

Network for New Music is an award-winning chamber music ensemble widely acclaimed for its outstanding performances and its dynamic and diverse concerts. Led by artistic director Linda Reichert and conducted by Jan Krzywicki, Network's virtuoso musicians bring the sound of imagination to audiences eager for fresh musical adventures. In its first 20 years, Network has commissioned, premiered and presented a rich variety of more than 500 innovative new works. The three composers on this disc all share a lineage going back to George Crumb and Richard Wernick, connections to Philadelphia, a happy relationship with Network, and a commitment to renew the articulate, expressive power of melody, harmony and rhythm. In each composer, we encounter three very different approaches to form. Whitman offers emphatic sonic guideposts that locate us firmly - beginning, middle, end - in the discourse. Wagner (winner of the 1999 Pulitzer for Music) proposes a stream of consciousness narrative in which each moment suggests a continuation, leaving much of its past behind. Levinson interjects ritual, both athletic and ceremonial, arriving at healing states of contemplation remote from the every day activities. The high quality and diversity of these works are emblematic of Network for New Music's commitment to creating an art music for the future, today.
Gerald Levinson, composer
At the Still Point of the Turning World, There the Dance Is
Network for New Music, Jan Krzywicki, conductor

Melinda Wagner, composer
Romanze with Faux Variations
Hirono Oka, violin, Ohad Bar-David, cello, Susan Nowicki, piano

Thomas Whitman, composer
Quartet for Piano and Strings
Hirono Oka, violin, Burchard Tang, viola, John Koen, cello, Linda Reichert, piano

"The three works together let us enjoy the deep pool of talent of the performers and savor the complimentary, distinct voices of the composers." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes NETWORK FOR NEW MUSIC Dream Journal
More Info
iTunes BERNARD RANDS Now Again