Legends, Violin Concerto
Quantity in Basket: None SHULAMIT RAN Legends, Violin Concerto TROY970 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Masterful performances by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Concert Orchestra and Ittai Shapira of this composer's magnificent music.

Shulamit Ran, probably the most significant Israeli composer since her teacher Paul Ben-Haim to receive wide, international recognition, came to this country in her teens and continued her studies with Norman Dello-Joio. In 1973 she joined the faculty of the University of Chicago. From 1990-1997 she was composer-in-residence of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. At this time she won the Pulitzer Prize for her Symphony (1990). Her music is marked by a strong sense of lyricism underpinned by dramatic, colorful contrasts and powerful orchestration. "Legends" was written in celebration of the twin centennials of the University of Chicago and the Chicago Symphony, and Albany Records is proud to present this live performance by this great orchestra. The Violin Concerto, as she puts it, "explores certain facets of what, for me, is the violin's complex personality, or 'soul'." It was written for the performer on this disc, Israeli violinist Ittai Shapira.
Shulamit Ran, composer
Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Daniel Barenboim, conductor

Shulamit Ran, composer
Violin Concerto
BBC Concert Orchestra, Ittai Shapira, violin, Charles Hazlewood, conductor

"Ran is a composer who's stayed the course, following her own vision, open to the general changes of the aesthetic climate that have allowed the return of 'beauty,' but never pandering to easy or cheap pleasures. Highly recommended." (Fanfare)

"...colorful, dramatic--and yes, romantic--music that grabs and holds audiences right off the bat. ...Legends will knock your socks off the first time out." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes WEBB, ADLER, RAN, YI, PUTS New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. IV
More Info
iTunes BRYANT, RUO, ADLER, RAN, DAUGHERTY, ROSS New Music from Bowling Green, Vol. 5