An Enchanted Being
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None ILEANA PEREZ VELAZQUEZ An Enchanted Being TROY987 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Deeply expressive and accessible music from this Cuban-American composer.

Born in Cienfuegos, Cuba, Ileana Perez Velázquez earned her degrees from the Higher Institute of Arts, Havana, in 1987. When she moved to the United States in 1993, she was already receiving acclaim as one of the bright lights of Cuban composition, having won several awards. She would later continue her studies at Dartmouth College and Indiana University, where her teachers included John Appleton, Charles Dodge, Claude Baker and Eugene O'Brien. She writes music that, while challenging for both performer and listener alike, is deeply expressive and accessible; her music may be uncompromising in its demands, but it also remains intensely dramatic and poignantly evocative. What's more, her rich harmonic language and rhythmically intricate, multi-layered textures reveal a true debt to her Cuban heritage.
Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Duendes Alados (Winged Goblins) for string quartet
Flux Quartet

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Wild Wisteria
Mickaele Granados, harp, Julie Malkova, viola

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Encantamiento (Enchantment)
Sally Pinkas, piano

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
entre la ternura y el intenso azul
Nathaniel Parke, cello

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Our sacred space for guitar
Iliana Matos, guitar

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Cipres for flute, violin, guitar, and cello
L'Ensemble Portique

Ileana Perez Velázquez, composer
Un ser encantado, aguas saladas, y piedras infinitas
Williams Chamber Players

"...a refreshing blend of lively movement and poise in a harmonically active style that maintains clear references to tonality." (American Record Guide)
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes ADOLPHUS HAILSTORK Swing Low, Sweet Chariot