Saxophone & Marimba Concertos
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None DAVID MASLANKA Saxophone & Marimba Concertos TROY424 - Price: $16.99
play sound file need help?
Go Back >


Colorful, exciting American scores.

David Maslanka writes about his Saxophone Concerto: "This concerto turned out to be a good deal longer than I would reasonably want. As I got into the composing, the ideas became insistent: none of them would be left out!" About his Marimba Concerto, here is what Mr. Maslanka has to say: "This concerto could easily be subtitled 'rhapsody' or 'fantasy' because of its meditative or free-flowing quality. It is easy to describe the overall shape an extended slow to moderate opening section, an explosive fast section, a quiet closing section but less easy to describe the internal working of the piece." Here the listener will have to use his or her imagination. David Maslanka was born in New Bedford, MA. He attended the Oberlin Conservatory, and studied for a year at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria. He did master's and doctoral work in composition at Michigan State University with H. Owen Reed. He is now a free-lance composer and lives in Missoula, Montana.
David Maslanka, composer
Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble
Univ. of Arizona Wind Ensemble; Gregg Hanson, conductor; Joseph Lulloff, saxophone

David Maslanka, composer
Concerto for Marimba and Band
Univ. of Arizona Wind Ensemble; Gregg Hanson, conductor; Drew Lang, marimba

Review to come
You may also like:
More Info
iTunes DAVID MASLANKA Music for Winds
More Info
iTunes OKLAHOMA PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE Contemporary American Music
More Info
iTunes EASTMAN SCHOOL OF MUSIC Eastman Series, Vol. 2
More Info
iTunes MANHATTAN WIND QUINTET American Music for Winds