Boldly Expressive!
Download from iTunes Quantity in Basket: None CLARKE, HELLER & HWANG Boldly Expressive! TROY372 - Price: $16.99
Go Back >


Violin sonatas in the Romantic tradition.

Here we have four premiere recordings by 19th and 20th century women composers. Here are some facts about these relatively unknown composers. Grandval studied music with Friedrich Flotow, composition with Saint-Saens and piano with Chopin. Not bad! She was a prolific composer and many of her works were published, performed and favorably reviewed during her lifetime. Johanna Senfter was from Oppenheim, Germany. She studied in Frankfurt and then in Leipzig with Max Reger. She composed more than 180 works including nine symphonies, concertos for piano, violin, and cello, five string quartets, a piano quintet, a clarinet quintet and numerous vocal works. Serra Miyeun Hwang was born and raised in Seoul, Korea. She moved to the United States at the age of 18, later receiving a BA in composition for the University of California. The German composer Barbara Heller is best known as the editor of a collection of the piano music of Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel. Clarke and Bacewicz need no introduction.
Rebecca Clarke, composer
Midsummer Moon
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

Marie Grandval, composer
Grande Sonate, Op. 8
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

Johanna Senfter, composer
Sech kleine Stucke fur Violine mit Klavierbegleitung, Op. 13
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

Serra Miyeun Hwang, composer
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

Barbara Heller, composer
Lalai-Schlaflied zum Wachwerden?
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

Grazyna Bacewicz, composer
Sonata No. 5
Laura Kobayashi, violin; Susan Gray, piano

"...Laura Kobayashi with pianist Susan Keith Gray give outstanding performances..." (Delius Society)
You may also like:
More Info